GHDI logo

States of the Federal Republic (1952)

A consolidation of the federal structure was achieved with the founding of a new federal state, Baden-Württemberg, in the southwestern part of the Federal Republic. The Federal Republic of Germany now consisted of nine (rather than eleven) federal states. On March 1, 1952, Heligoland was returned to German administration and was annexed to the state of Schleswig- Holstein. (A. Kunz)

Please click on print version (below) for a larger version with enhanced resolution.

print version     return to map list previous map      next map

States of the Federal Republic (1952)

IEG-Maps, Institute of European History, Mainz / © A. Kunz, 2005