GHDI logo

States [Länder] of the German Democratic Republic (1949)

A second German state was formed on the territory of the Soviet Zone of Occupation in 1949, the German Democratic Republic. Its capital was East Berlin, a choice that was (and continued to remain) controversial on account of Allied reservations. The division of the country into five states [Länder] – Mecklenburg, Brandenburg, Saxony-Anhalt, Thuringia, and Saxony – was not met with similar reservations. (A. Kunz)

Please click on print version (below) for a larger version with enhanced resolution.

print version     return to map list previous map      next map

States [Länder] of the German Democratic Republic (1949)

IEG-Maps, Institute of European History, Mainz / © A. Kunz, 2005