GHDI logo
German History in Documents and Images
return to system

Group Portrait of Bauhaus-Masters in Dessau (1926)
With the exception of Gerhard Marcks, all of the Bauhaus masters moved to the new school at Dessau. This group photo was taken on the rooftop of the new building. It shows (left to right): Josef Albers, Hinnerk Scheper, Georg Muche, Lázló Moholy-Nagy, Herbert Bayer, Joost Schmidt, Walter Gropius, Marcel Breuer, Wassily Kandinsky, Paul Klee, Lyonel Feininger, Gunta Stölzl, and Oskar Schlemmer. Stölzl, the only woman who managed to be promoted to master, was head of the weaving workshop. Photo by Erich Consemüller.